Another Year Older…

The day is almost over and I’m another year older, a little bit wiser, and very grateful.

It’s ironic that as children we can’t wait to get older and as adults we wish we could be free of all the responsibilities we have and slow down the clock. One piece of advice I would give to teens and young adults is this…don’t wish your lives away. Enjoy every moment because you won’t get them back.

Yes, my hair is getting gray, but I have a good hairdresser. She’s also a great person and good friend and that helps because I have to visit her more often than I once did.

I’m getting a few wrinkles around my eyes. Yes, they’re signs of aging, but also proof that I’ve laughed and cried. The laughter and tears have both helped me find a balance in life. 

One of the things I’ve worked on this past year is to not spend time worrying about things I can’t change…with myself and with others. I think I’ve made progress. It’s helped me find time for more laughter and not worrying about what others think of me. 

I am me and I am enough. On this birthday I vow to to be happy and feel joy as often as I can and to find it in all the little things we tend to take for granted. Tomorrows are what birthdays are about and I’m going to collect as many good memories as I can. 

I’m reminded of a few quotes as I close…

There is no expiration date on fabulous.

You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream. C.S. Lewis

God didn’t promise: days without pain, laughter without sorrow, nor sun without rain, but he did promise: strength for the day, comfort for the tears, and light for the way.

Happy birthday to me…


14 thoughts on “Another Year Older…

Leave a Reply

