I Won’t Be Quiet Any Longer…

The debate set off a firestorm of confused and misleading remarks concerning late term/partial birth abortions in America. 

I am not here to debate anyone or try to change minds. I’m tired of seeing mean spirited, hateful articles on social media about those of us who are against abortion. Many of us believe life begins at conception. We aren’t uneducated. We aren’t ignorant. We aren’t deluded. We have a different opinion than some of you reading this and I respect your right to disagree with me. There was a time in my life long ago that I shared your opinion, but I no longer do.

You can continue to ridicule us for our Christian beliefs. It’s no surprise to us…the Bible tells us to expect it. 

Regarding the argument that it’s a woman’s body and she has a right to decide what to do with it? A woman’s body does not have four eyes, four arms, four legs, and two beating hearts. She’s making a choice for another human being who has no voice.

As many of us who work in health care can attest to….we’ve witnessed many premature babies go on to lead productive lives. Most were wanted. A few were abandoned. Many had birth defects that would have made them a “candidate” for abortion if their mother had chosen that option. The majority of them defied the odds and are grown adults today. I wonder where they would stand on the issue of abortion?

** I usually stay away from politics here and on Facebook, but I felt I had to speak up at least once on this issue.

13 thoughts on “I Won’t Be Quiet Any Longer…

  1. We had this discussion in my psychology and someone said, “If you think about it, we determine the end of our life as no heartbeat or pulse, therefore it can be safe to assume that human life begins at a heartbeat.” I have always thought that if we can’t determine when life ends exactly, how can we determine when life begins. Just something to think about.

    Like

    1. I welcome all comments…even when someone doesn’t agree with me. The only time I take issue with an opposing view is when I’m belittled or called derogatory names. I can respect another person’s view even when it’s different than mine. Too bad more people aren’t like us in that respect.

      Thanks for reading and leaving a comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Like Liza and Dan, I don’t agree but I respect different point of views and I admire you for voicing out your opinion. Our fear to say what we want is what makes the world “less good”… provided we accept that we won’t all think the same and we don’t judge others or argue for the differences. I understand Christianity and religion, I’m a Catholic. However, I also understand circumstances. The reason for abortion must not be selfishness or vanity. I may be wrong but it could be that Science isn’t totally off-track and life starts some time after conception. Just my 2c..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree that we shouldn’t be afraid to speak up. Not all people are as kind as you or Liza and Dan when someone else has an opposing view and that’s a shame. So many people would rather belittle and degrade rather than say, “I don’t agree with you, but I respect your opinion”. Sometimes you have to agree to disagree.

      Thank you for reading, commenting, and your kind words towards me. I’m happy to have you following me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s my pleasure. I’m glad to have found you and I’m looking forward to reading your posts regularly (although WP seem to hide posts of people I follow sometimes – haha! so, I try to read as often as I can).
        I feel it’s in all of us to do our utmost to promote kindness in humanity and what better way than for us to set the example. And truly, differences in opinions make for interesting life and lead us to new learning. See you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

