Your Past Does Not Define You…

A blogger friend left a comment regarding my 3 day quote challenge. They thought it would be interesting for me to pick a few quotes and blog about my reflections on those quotes. I’ve had writer’s block lately so I thought it was a fabulous idea.

I’m terrible at making decisions…it takes me forever. I recently joked to a friend that I should run for President and she replied, “No. You only have four years to make a decision”! 

Due to my decision making skills, I asked in the Community Pool forum for other bloggers to choose their favorite quotes from my post. Below is one of the winners…

We all have a past. There are good times and bad. We tend to focus on the bad things in our past and often times are filled with regret. Regret for things we did or did not do. Regret for things we said or did not say. 

We have all wished at one time or another that we had a rewind button. Yet at the same time those regrets/mistakes have made us into the people we are today. We learned lessons from the things we regret that we wouldn’t have learned otherwise. That’s how life works. 

Is there something you regret? Yes. Would you go back and do it again? Probably. Why? Because right or wrong, it’s what you thought you needed at the time.

I’m reminded of another quote while I’m writing this. We are all free to choose, but we are not free from the consequences of those choices. That’s where our lessons in life come from. 

We all have different ways to deal with our mistakes and regrets. There are people who don’t even get knocked down by them. They just walk away and move on. They don’t need to “feel” anything or figure it out. 

Then there are people like myself. We get knocked down and stay down for a bit. We need time to feel the emotions and try to figure out where we went wrong and why. Some might call it a “pity party”, but it’s not. It’s just how we’re made…to feel and to try and make sense of it all. We don’t stay down for long tho’. We may get knocked down, but we always get back up, brush ourselves off, and move forward. It just takes us a little longer than others and that’s okay. (Do my fellow INFJs agree?)

Some folks get knocked down in life and can’t get back up on their feet. Get back up and fight for yourself and do what you need to, to move on. It’s okay to take the time you need, but try to move forward even if you have to ask for help to do so. Just breathe. Take it a day at a time and it won’t seem so overwhelming. I promise you’ll look back one day and say, “I don’t know how I made it, but I did”!

Your past does not define you. Your mistakes and regrets do not define you. You learn from them and they make you who you are today. You’re wiser because of them.

Your past only deters and destroys you if you let it. We are all human and we all make mistakes. We’ve all been hurt or have hurt someone else. We’ve all been disappointed or had another disappoint us. We’ve all made decisions that have changed our lives for the worse, but remember…some our worst decisions lead to greater things in the future. Never give up! If you need to apologize and ask someone to forgive you…do it! That’s something you will never regret. Just remember to forgive yourself as well for your faults and mistakes and move forward.

Your past is behind you for a reason. Don’t let it defeat you. Let it strengthen you and make you a better person today…in spite of it all!

7 thoughts on “Your Past Does Not Define You…

  1. Hi,
    That’s nice you try to empower people and increase their self-esteem at your site.
    I met you at Roberta’s blog party.
    Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

