Pineapple Upside Down Cheescake…

I went out with some friends at one of my favorite hangouts not long ago and to end our meal we all had dessert. This place is famous for their homemade desserts. The owner makes them fresh everyday and it’s always something different. You never know what they’re serving. 

This day she happened to have made pineapple upside down cheesecake. I’m not a big fan of cheesecake, but I do love pineapple (and of course cake) and this is a combination of both so I decided to give it a try. It was delicious!

I tried to recreate it at home and as I always do, I went on Pinterest for ideas. I used a combination of recipes I found and here’s what I came up with. I always try to keep things simple and easy in the kitchen…this recipe was a little more work than I wanted it to be so I simplified it by using a store bought graham cracker crust and a boxed pineapple upside down cake mix. It’s still home made because I made it at home! It’s not identical to the one I had earlier in the week, but it was still pretty darn good!

Cheesecake Ingredients:



Crust:
1 store bought 9 inch graham cracker crust. You can make your own if you prefer. 

Cheesecake:
Four 8-ounce packages PHILADELPHIA cream cheese, at room temperature
1⅔ cups sugar
¼ cup cornstarch
1 tablespoon vanilla 
2 extra-large eggs
¾ cup heavy whipping cream

Directions for cheesecake:
In a large bowl, using an electric mixer, beat 1 package of the cream cheese, ⅓ cup of the sugar, and the cornstarch together on low until creamy, scraping down the bowl.

Blend in the remaining cream cheese, one package at a time, beating well and scraping down the bowl after each.
Increase the mixer speed to medium and beat in the remaining sugar, then the vanilla.

Blend in the eggs, one at a time, beating well. 

Beat in the cream just until completely blended.

The filling will look light, creamy, and airy. Don’t overmix! Spoon the batter into the crust. 

Bake until the edge is light golden brown, the top is light gold, and the center barely jiggles, about 1¼ hours. If the cake still feels soft around the edge, let it bake for another 10 minutes. Remove the cheesecake and let cool for 2 hours. Chill until cold.

Directions for pineapple upside down cake:

Topping:
¼ cup butter, melted
½ cup packed light brown sugar
sliced pineapples (8 canned slices)
15-20 maraschino cherries

Cake:
Prepare according to directions on box. I added a little pineapple juice from the canned pineapples.

Instructions:

Preheat oven

Prepare topping first:

Place ¼ cup of melted butter into a 9-inch cake pan. I used a cast iron skillet instead. 

Sprinkle the brown sugar on top.
Lay pineapple slices on top and add cherries in the spaces! Pour cake batter over the topping and bake at temperature and time according to directions on the cake mix box.

Cool for 10 minutes and invert onto large plate.

Let cool completely and use a large spatula to transfer this on top of your cheesecake.

Chill until cold

Leave a Reply

