Fear…

Fear of death. Fear of change. Fear of failure. These are just a few examples of what people fear. Every living person fears something so the list could on forever.

Many fears are learned, but the capacity to fear is part of being human. Fear keeps us safe and stops us from doing things that could hurt us. Should you take a shortcut thru a dark alley alone or walk along a well lit street where there are other people? Should you leave your drink unattended at a bar while you go to the restroom? Should you go for a swim in the ocean at night by yourself? Fear has protected us since the beginning of time. A healthy dose of fear when you’re dealing with situations in the present sense of time is a good thing. If it puts you in danger, avoid it. If you can’t avoid it, then be prepared as you face it.

Fear keeps you alive, but it can also keep you from living. How many times have you wanted to do something or try something new, but were afraid to do it? We worry about what could go wrong or all the bad things that could happen. When you worry about things in the future it keeps you from enjoying life in the present. Most of the things we worry about never happen anyway.

And then there’s the past. So many things that happened to us in our past prevent us from trying again. It didn’t work out last time so why try? We fear we will repeat our past. Each day is a new beginning. Remember the lessons you learned from your past and you won’t have to fear those things or situations again.

We all have to face our fears at some point, otherwise they rule our lives. I once was afraid to speak in front of others and I still don’t like it, but I had to face that fear many years ago. I’ve worked in the medical field for many years and at one point I was an instructor for the Radiology program at the hospital where I worked. I no longer instruct, but the experience and lesson have stayed with me. I knew part of the job would include speaking to audiences on occasion …students, doctors, hospital officials, graduation programs, meeting presentations. I really wanted the opportunity so I had to face my fear, take the bull by the horns and go with it. I may not have been the best speaker, but I did it! It wasn’t as scary as I imagined and even if I did mess up once in awhile, I didn’t die of embarrassment like I once thought I would. I even received compliments on my first graduation speech. Even though I still don’t enjoy speaking to groups of people, I faced my fear and know I can get through it when I have to. However, I still fear sky diving and scuba diving and I’m not sure I’ll ever face those fears!

I know people face fears far worse than the story I just told. I have a few of my own that I choose not to talk about. Sometimes we have to face those fears every day, day after day, until they are conquered.

To anyone reading this regardless of what it is you fear, know that you’re strong enough to overcome it. It may take time, but you can do it! It may take courage that you don’t think you have, but I promise if you search hard enough you’ll find it!! Fear is a liar. Never let fear decide your future!

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. Psalm 56:3

Do not fear for I am with you. Isaiah 41:10

Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. 1 Peter 5:7

I wrote this in response to my pal Benjamin for a video he’s working on.  He said to share so please feel free to participate.

Here’s the link: http://projectbiy.com/2016/07/13/friends-i-need-your-help/

**image from Pinterest

9 thoughts on “Fear…

  1. Ah ha! Fear of death, change, failure and even rejection! So many stuff that we are afraid of and all for what?
    Indeed, for Survival- To help pull us through another day.

    But hey, here’s a little preview into what I’ve been researching on- Fear also leads to evolution! There’s a reason why we love doing certain things too like watching horror movies or taking the roller coaster and so many other “Risky” stuff!

    Oooh things are getting interesting now, isn’t it?? Hah! I will be talking more about it in the video so stay tuned for it and thanks for the share btw! Really appreciate it 😉

    Your pal,
    Benjamin

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Friday Five
    1. That’s true and the feeling of accomplishment we get once we face those fears sometimes makes us wonder why we were afraid to begin with. Thank you for reading and commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

