Mom’s Southern Macaroni Salad…

If you’re looking for a delicious macaroni salad for your Fourth of July get together…look no further! 

My mom made this for every family celebration we had. Not because it was the only thing she could make, but because it was the most requested by numerous family members. It may have been a tie between this and her homemade banana AND coconut cream pies, but she never disappointed. The macaroni salad and pies were ALWAYS on the table! 

The recipes I share that come from my family are very special to me. They aren’t anything fancy, but they were always made with love by those I loved. Most of the great cooks in my family have passed away, but their traditions and recipes live on in me and my cousins and we’ll pass them on to our children as well.

Keep in mind that like all great southern cooks they didn’t measure or follow recipes….a little bit of this, a pinch, a dash. The following measurements are guesstimates on my part because I cook the same way. I suggest you do the same. Make it your own!

Let me know what you think if you decide to try it and who knows, you might be the macaroni salad chef at all of your family and friends celebrations!

Ingredients

Dressing:

1/2 cup of mayonnaise 

2 tablespoons of pickle juice 

1 tablespoon of granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon of salt

Salad:

2 cups of dry elbow macaroni

1 cup of chopped  onion

1/4 cup of chopped celery

1/4 cup of chopped pickles, sweet or dill

1/4 cup of pickle juice

Salt & Pepper to taste

Instructions

In a large serving bowl, whisk together the dressing ingredients; set aside. Cook pasta in well salted water according to package directions. Drain and rinse and add to serving bowl. Top with the onion, celery, pickles and pickle juice and toss. Taste, add salt and pepper, taste and adjust as needed. Refrigerate before serving for at least 2 hours, or overnight, if possible; toss again before serving, stirring in additional mayonnaise or pickle juice if more moisture is needed.

Tip: For a pretty presentation, garnish with paprika and lay slices of hard boiled eggs across the top. I also add eggs into the macaroni salad.

9 thoughts on “Mom’s Southern Macaroni Salad…

  1. This reminds me of how my grandma cooked. I recall my mom and aunt rying to get a recipe from her as she was preparing it. They took notes as she cooked. She cooked so fast and just threw ingredients, unmeasured, into the pots and pans, that my mom and my aunt had two completely different recipes when all was said and done lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I recall asking both my mom and grandma how they made certain things and they’d always say…a little of this, a handful of that, a pinch or two, pour this in until it looks right! Nobody cooks like they did and it always tasted delicious! Great memories but unfortunately hard to recreate. At least we get credit for trying, right? I wish I’d paid closer attention when they cooked.😞 Great story about your mom and aunt. I hope they had a contest on who’s recipe came the closest to tasting like your grandma’s!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. lol, when we were all younger they would both make the dishes for the same family functions an we’d always laugh about it. Man I miss those days. Thanks for your post – it has brought some nostalgia to my Sunday 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

