Travel Is My Therapy…

We travel because we want to see new sights, meet different and interesting people, try new exotic foods, and experience different cultures and ways of life. We travel because we want to feel. The feeling may be different for each of us, but traveling makes us all feel something.

My life may not have turned out the way I thought it would, but overall I’m very happy. I try not to complain and I’m thankful for all that I have. I’m not an “I want more” kind of person except when it comes to travel. I always want to travel more!

If there’s a mid life crisis in my future I don’t plan to feed it with a new expensive car or a relationship with a younger man. Hmmm, maybe I’ve already had a mid life crisis and didn’t realize it…that would explain a few things! Anyway, if that mid life crisis does ever arrive I’ll feed it with travel! Travel will be my therapy. And who says when I get to where I’m going I can’t rent an expensive sports car to drive around in with a younger man in the passenger seat! 

In all seriousness…
Some people travel to run away from something or run to something. For me it feels like I’m running away from the responsibilities of every day life and running towards adventure! I love discovering new places and meeting new people. I usually never have an itinerary. I just see where the day takes me and run with it.

We all want new life in our veins. Wash away the old ways and breathe in the fresh air of unfamiliar places. It’s always a wondrous moment when you see things for the first time that you’ve only seen on a screen or in pictures. 

There are discoveries to be made wherever you go….finding a favorite place that you’ll always remember. A meal that you’ll never be able to recreate or find anywhere else. The warmth in the smiles of strangers that you meet. Making friends along the way and staying in touch with them. One of the best feelings I get when traveling is collapsing on a bed that isn’t mine and thinking…what a great day it’s been! I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings! New memories with every breath and every step.

You don’t always need a therapist’s couch. A beach chair or beach blanket on the sand is a nice alternative. How about laying on a hammock watching for falling stars or sitting in a hot tub on the deck of your cabin in the mountains? A picnic table in a secluded spot near a waterfall is always relaxing. Even in a poolside lounge chair talking to other parents while the kids swim is a good place to be. 

Travel. It’s excellent therapy. It takes your mind off of your problems and troubles. You can take a break from yourself and once you realize there’s a whole new world out there waiting to be discovered, you can actually feel those troublesome thoughts drift away and feel carefree… even if it’s only for a short time. 

Travel isn’t only about the destination, but the memories and experiences you gain during the journey….and if you lose the negative thoughts and energies along the way, then even better!

3 thoughts on “Travel Is My Therapy…

Leave a Reply

