Grandma’s Recipe…

Cocoa & Biscuits….

When most people think of biscuits and gravy they think of a white, milk gravy mixed with sausage served over biscuits.I never tasted it until I was an adult and here’s why….

Growing up cocoa gravy or cocoa and biscuits as we called it, was a Saturday morning feast along with bacon and scrambled eggs. Once our bellies were full it was off to the living room for Saturday morning cartoons. Oh, to be a kid again!

A chocolate gravy recipe is a prized inheritance for people with Southern roots. My mom got it from my grandma, who got it from her mother in law…a Mississippi woman raised in Texas.

A lot of folks turn their nose up at the thought of chocolate gravy, but let me tell you, I think it’s amazing!

It always brings back fond memories for me and my cousins when we reminisce about spending the night with grandma. She always made it for us for breakfast. It was a special treat, just as it was on Saturday mornings when my mom made it.

My mom and grandma are both gone now, but we all carry on the tradition of cocoa and biscuits with our kids. When my daughter has friends over to spend the night, I make it for breakfast the next morning and they can’t get enough! One of her friends requests it every time she comes over.

It’s funny how food can bring back so many memories, but it does. Every time I make it, it’s like a warm hug from my mom and grandma!

Cocoa Gravy

1/4 cup cocoa

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

3/4 cup white sugar

2 cups milk

1 tablespoon butter, softened

2 teaspoons vanilla

Whisk the cocoa, flour, and sugar together in a bowl until there are no lumps. Pour the milk into the mixture and whisk until well incorporated. Transfer the mixture to a saucepan and cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, until its consistency is similar to gravy, 7 to 10 minutes. Remove from heat and stir the butter and vanilla into the mixture until the butter is melted. Serve immediately over biscuits.

img_0856

6 thoughts on “Grandma’s Recipe…

  1. Omg that looks wonderful! Wish I could try it but that kind of thing is unfortunately off limits for me. You are one lucky girl! I too am from Mississippi and raised in Texas but never had that. My grandmother always gave us home made biscuits and molasses! Yum are those as well! I miss her, and my mom but I have those memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s very good. I wish you could try it, too.😊 I cherish all of the recipes from my mom and grandma. They were both great cooks and when I make something that they made it brings back many fond memories. Thanks for taking a look!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

