I promise….

Quotes….

I love quotes. It’s my biggest board on Pinterest. We can all find several that apply to our lives or certain situations we face. They make us feel better to know we aren’t alone…that someone else has experienced what we’re going thru.

Quotes sometimes express what we’re feeling when we can’t put those feelings into words. Whether it’s something inspirational, sarcastic, funny, biblical, or a quote that just makes us smile….there’s something for everyone.

I’d like to share one of my favorites….

img_0279

One of my all time favorites from one of my favorite books! The book is The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. If you haven’t read it, you should.

I’m always very careful with my words and promises. If I feel like it’s something I won’t be able to follow through with, I won’t say it.

It’s important for me to remember that not everyone is like me in this respect and I’ve been disappointed by people’s broken promises many times. Of course I know not all promises can be kept for a variety of reasons. I do believe most people have good intentions when making a promise. Sometimes life can get in the way and prevent them from keeping the promise they made. Maybe promises to some people are just empty words or perhaps they didn’t think it thru before promising. It doesn’t make them bad people, but it does make it harder to trust them again.

Have I ever said something I shouldn’t have? Yes, and I’ve learned I don’t have to say everything I think. I meant it, but I shouldn’t have said it! It’s ok to keep some things to yourself.

Have I broken a promise? A few. It troubles me deeply, to this very day, to know that I let down and disappointed a person who trusted me. I know now, that if I had thought things thru more carefully, I could have avoided it in the first place. Lesson learned! Only make a promise you know you can keep and that’s what I do! I’ve been told I’m very trustworthy, so I must be doing something right.

Getting back to the quote…many of us make the mistake of thinking others think like we do. They don’t…and it’s a hard lesson to learn.

I pride myself on keeping my word, and if I promise you something, you can be assured I will honor it. Always. It’s not something I take lightly. My feelings about a person or situation may change over time, but I’m one of those people who mean what they say….a promise is forever in my book.

4 thoughts on “I promise….

Leave a Reply

